A new years resolution that will keep

Can you believe 2009 is almost over? As I sit back and look at what a year this was, I’m so incredibly thankful I made it through [and for all of the amazing opportunities it brought!] And with 2010 just around the corner, I get eager and excited to see what this next year has to bring for me. As I sit and daydream of what is to come, I also start to think of what resolution I will make when the clock strikes midnight. Year after year, I’ve made a resolution, some more attainable than others, some more vain or superficial. And each year as the months pass, my resolution seems to fade in the passing days. And it’s not that I’m not trying my best to achieve my promise, it’s that things get busy and life, well, just happens. So no matter how hard I consciously try to keep my new years resolution, it always falls at the wayside and I’m left to wonder, will I ever keep a resolution I make on New Years Eve?

Well this year,  I vow for things to go a bit differently. I vow to keep my resolution. Not just keep it. I vow to practice it, every, single day of 2010. How?

Well simple! My new years resolution for 2010 is not your average, run of the mill resolution. It’s one that took some serious thinking and will take some incredible motivation, courage and passion. So what is this super-charged resolution you ask?

Instead of trying to keep one resolution all year long, I vow to make a different New Years resolution every day of 2010, and accomplish each one.

I know what you’re thinking. GASP! Did she just say she’s going to make and accomplish a New Years Resolution, EVERY SINGLE DAY of 2010? She’s either insane or completely delusional. There is no way she’s going to be able to keep it.

Which, trust me, I’ve thought to. How on earth am I going to be able to do this? Well, it’s not going to be easy. I’ll have to take baby steps, but it’s something I know I can accomplish.

I’m the queen bee of never finishing anything I start. For example, I have a few novels with beginnings, but no middles, or ends. I have a house that still needs some TLC, a GRE that isn’t going to take itself, and a stack of graduate school applications that only have my name on them. So for once, this year, I want, I VOW, to finish something. And if it’s this, well, that’d be alright by me.

So what are a few of these “mini new years resolutions ” I’m going to make and do? I’ll give you a few examples 🙂

1. Run a half marathon by years end [which obviously I can’t do in one day, so it’s a goal I’m shooting for by next year]

2. Strike up a conversation with the person sitting next to me on the metro [given they aren’t a serial killer]

3. Not watch tv for an entire day

4. Go an entire day without checking Facebook

5. Cook every night for 2 weeks [real cooking, not just pop in the microwave]

6. Buy a meal for a homeless person

7. Eat only raw food for one day

8. Not cuss an entire day

9. Go one week without drinking wine

10.  Go an entire day without complaining

11. Go one day without weighing myself

12. Start a savings account and NOT spend a dime of it

So those are just a few of the tasks I have lying ahead of me in the year to come. Don’t seem as daunting once I have them written out.

Well, wish me luck! I know I’ll need it.

~ by therealnutritionist on December 18, 2009.

One Response to “A new years resolution that will keep”

  1. […] To read the rest of this article go check out her blog, Julie and Julia doesn’t have squat on … […]

Leave a Reply

 
