Day 5: Register to volunteer

Never before has man had such a great capacity to control his own environment, to end hunger, poverty and disease, to banish illiteracy and human misery. We have the power to make the best generation of mankind in the history of the world.”
    President John F. Kennedy

To me, there is no greater feeling than helping out others in need. Even if you only volunteer once in your life, that one time you touched someone else’s life in a way that they will surely never forget. We all tend to overlook just how lucky we are and take for granted so many of life’s little blessings. I know I do, sometimes I waste water, throw away food or buy something I’ll never wear, and it isn’t all deliberate. Sometimes I just forget how good I have it. We all do, it’s normal. We’re human beings and sometimes we just get caught up living and sometimes we just turn a blind eye to what is really going on in this world. Sometimes I turn off the news because I just can’t handle “all of the reality.” Does this make me a bad person? definitely not. It makes me real. And like many other people, I want to offset these feelings by volunteering. I’ve done my share of volunteer work, don’t get me wrong, I just haven’t done as much as I’d like. Blame it on laziness and exhaustion, but neither is a sufficient excuse. So today’s resolution, to sign up for a volunteer orientation with Greater DC-cares, a volunteer program based in Washington DC that will hook me up with a volunteer opportunity in DC! (http://www.dc-cares.org/) If you aren’t located in the nation’s capital and want to volunteer, I’ve found this website to be incredibly useful and interactive. (www.volunteermatch.org). It allows you to search for volunteer opportunities related to your interests and passions.

To prove my dedication, here’s a screen shot of my verification!

Greater DC Cares Volunteer Orientation, January 20, 6:30pm

Greater DC Cares Volunteer Orientation, January 20, 6:30pm

Wednesday, January 20, 2010 from 6:30 PM – 7:30 PM (ET)
Thank you for your order

Your order is complete and your information has been recorded.

Order Confirmation

TICKET BUYER QUANTITY TICKET TYPES PAID
Claire Gallam 1 General $0.00
ORDER TOTAL $0.00
Order #: 517241082-8461526

You will not receive paper tickets or order confirmation unless special arrangements have been made.

You will receive a confirmation email from Eventbrite on behalf of the host (Greater DC Cares).

For more information, please contact the host via email at volunteer@greaterdccares.org.

~ by therealnutritionist on January 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
