Day 8: Start my novel

I found out some good news today, I don’t need a cast! Although my elbow is still fractured (I cracked my radial head-the small bone in the elbow that controls the left-to-right movement of my forearm), it will hopefully be healed in half the time! So I’ll be back to typing, dressing and showering in no time!

Although that’s good news, Ive had kind of rough day. I just feel a bit lost right now. Even though I’m young and have plenty of time to figure “out my life,” I still have this aching-nagging feeling in the back of my mind like I’m forgetting something or missing out on something big. So as I was admist a tiny mental breakdown (I hid away in my room and cried), I realized what I feel like I’m missing and not fulfilling: writing a novel. From as long as I can remember, I’ve always been a writer, writing has been my passion-my calling-what I’m supposed to do (I wrote my first short story at age 8). Although I’ve grown up and found other callings (hello nutrition), writing a novel about my life has still been something I knew I would do, but it just keeps falling to the wayside. (Life happens, bones break, people get sick, new jobs happen!)

So here I  am, on day 8 of my resolutions, outlining a book that will, I’m completely sure of, change my life, even if I don’t sell a copy. To be honest, I’m scared-to-death that this book may destroy me and resurface all the pain and self-destruction that once defined me,  but I’m willing to take that risk.

What then, in black and white, is today’s mini-lution? To have this memoir written by February of next year and to have a page update for you the 8th of every month. Writing is my stress reliever and mt anti-depressant, so this deadline not only helps my book get done, it also improves my mood and relieves my anxiety, which equals to a much healthier Claire mentally! It’s a giant leap of faith and a huge commitment, but it has the ability to change my life and my world, and I can only pray it has the same effect on others who read it!

~ by therealnutritionist on January 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
