Day 27: Sign up for a race

If there’s one thing I love, it’s a good challenge, which is exactly what this mini-lution is about! Growing up as an athlete, I’ve always been naturally good at staying in shape. Well, that was until I got a full-time job where I sit…all…day…long. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to know that sitting all day does not do wonders for the physique and I’ve certainly seen the less than pleasing results of a sedentary lifestyle. [Also known as a 10 lb. weight gain]. Although I still work out regularly and eat a balanced meals, the scale has yet to display any real downwards trends. [Being the perfectionist I am, 5 pounds does not register on my radar.]

So to combat the 10 pounds that refuse to leave and that longing feeling in my gut to accomplish something I’ve never tried, I signed up for a race!! Granted, I’m not talking about a marathon just yet, but a simple 5k. I’m using the 5k as a jumping off point to future marathons and triathlons. 

Here’s the race I entered, so folks, please come and cheer me on! I plan on training hardcore until then, but I know I’ll need some support!

National Police Week 5K: http://www.active.com/running/washington-dc/national-police-week-5k-2010

I love…trying new things and being young enough to try again if I fail!

~ by therealnutritionist on March 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
