Day 2: Sign up for an AED/CPR class

Day 2: Sign up to get AED and CPR certified

Along with a select few things in my life, I’ve sort of been procrastinating on getting certified in CPR and AED. [For those who don’t know, AED stands for Automated external defibrillators, which are devices that are used on individuals who are suffering cardiac arrest].  Well, as spring kicks in and I’m no longer facing seasonal affective disorder, my motivation to do more in my life and chase my dreams kicks into high gear. So a few days ago, I sat down and did a bit of research on what I need to do to get a personal training and group fitness instructor certification and the first thing that popped up was getting CPR and AED certified, neither of which I am.

For many obvious reasons, it is clear why these certifications are necessary in the fitness industry. Firstly, if a client goes into cardiac arrest  as their personal trainer or fitness instructor, you need to know exactly how to use an automated external defibrillator machine, which analyzes the victims heartbeat and tells the rescuer to deliver a shock, if necessary. Secondly, if you are unable to get an AED machine and the victim is facing cardiac arrest, a heart attack, or heart failure, you need to know how to perform CPR fast and efficiently to ensure oxygen is being given and blood is still pumping. Also, all accredited gyms, schools and country clubs require a CPR/AED certification before they grant employment.

With that being said, the obvious next step for me is to get certified. However, it’s not as easy as it used to be. You need to study and do prep before you sign up for the 6-8 hour training class. Which means more studying and freshening up on human anatomy, physiology, nutrition and fitness for me before I take the class in April. [I signed up for Saturday, April 17th].

If you are in the DC area and would like to get certified, visit http://www.redcrossnca.org/index.php/health-a-safety/cpr-courses.html?course=17. For classes nationwide, visit www.redcross.org

~ by therealnutritionist on March 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
